Faculty

Center Director

 

Marie-Francoise Chesselet, M.D., Ph.D.

Charles H Markham Professor of Neurology
Director, Integrative Center for Neural Repair (ICNR) and
Director, Center for the Study of Parkinson's Disease (CSPD) at UCLA
Genetic animal models of PD, non-motor symptoms of PD, environmental factors in PD
preclinical testing of novel PD treatments

mchesselet@mednet.ucla.edu

Movement Disorders Program Director

 

Jeff Bronstein, M.D., Ph.D.

Neurologist/Movement Disorders Specialist
Director, UCLA Movement Disorders Program
Director, Southwest VA PADRECC
Cellular and zebrafish models of PD, Transplantation and DBS clinical trials

jbronste@ucla.edu

Yvette Bordelon M.D., Ph.D.

Neurologist/Movement Disorders Specialist
Assistant Professor, Neurology

ybordelon@mednet.ucla.edu

Epidemiology/Human Genetics

 
Beate Ritz M.D., Ph.D.

Co-director, Center for Gene Environment in Parkinson’s Disease
Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology, Neurology Vice Chair, Epidemiology
Genetic and environmental risk factors for PD, pesticide exposure and PD

britz@ucla.edu

Giovanni Coppola, M.D.

Assistant Professor-in-Residence, Psychiatry & Biobehavioral Sciences; Neurology
Epidemiology and Human Genetics
and risk factors in PD

gcoppola@ucla.edu

Molecular Mechanisms/Genetic Modifiers

 
   
   

John Froines, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus, School of Public Health; Environmental Health Sciences
the role of environmental toxins in PD

jfroines@ucla.edu

Dreier, Lars Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Neurobiology
Molecular Mechanisms and genetic modifiers in PD

larsdreier@ucla.edu

Ming Guo, M.D., Ph.D.

Neurologist
Assistant Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology
Molecular Mechanisms and Genetic Modifiers in PD: Parkin and Pink-1 in drosophila models of PD

http://guolab.neurology.ucla.edu

Oliver Hankinson, Ph.D.

Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Molecular mechanisms and genetic modifiers in PD; Environmental toxins in PD

ohank@mednet.ucla.edu

David Krantz,  M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Hatos Center for Neuropharmacology
Assistant Professor in residence, Psychiatry & Biobehavioral Sciences
Synaptic transmission and dysfunction in drosophila models

dkrantz@ucla.edu

(Aldons) Jake Lusis, Ph.D.

Chair, Human Genetics
Professor, Human Genetics, Medicine, Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics;
Director, Mouse Metabolic Syndrome Phenotype Facility;     
Molecular Mechanisms/Genetic Modifiers in PD

jlusis@mednet.ucla.edu

Nigel Maidment, Ph.D.

Professor, Hatos Center for Neuropharmacology; Psychiatry & biobehavioral Sciences
Neurotransmitter release and dysfunction in models of PD

nmaidmen@ucla.edu

Alvaro Sagasti, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
Molecular mechanisms and genetic modifiers in PD

sagasti@mcdb.ucla.edu

Felix, Schweizer Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Neurobiology
Electrophysiological studies of regulation of Neurotransmitter release in PD

felixs@ucla.edu

Desmond Smith M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology
Molecular Mechanisms and Genetic Modifiers in PD

Sophie Sokolow, Ph.D, M.Ph.

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Molecular Mechanisms and genetic modifiers in PD

ssokolow@sonnet.ucla.edu

Alex Van der Bliek, Ph.D.

Professor, Biological Chemistry
Molecular Mechanisms/Genetic Modifiers: Interaction of mitochondria with PD susceptibility genes

avan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

   
   

Brain Circuitry

 
Michele Basso, Ph.D.

Professor-in-Residence, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
role of Basal Ganglia in cognition and decision making

mbasso@mednet.ucla.edu

V. Reggie Edgerton, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor, Integrative Biology and Physiology
circuitry of motor control in PD

vre@ucla.edu

Michael Levine, Ph.D.

Chair, Neuroscience Graduate Program
Associate Director, Mental Retardation Research Center
Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

Neurophysiological mechanisms underlying neuronal dysfunction in PD

mlevine@mednet.ucla.edu

   

Drug Development

 
Gal, Bitan PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurology
Drug Development: Use of "molecular tweezers" to prevent formation of alpha-synuclein aggregates in PD

gbitan@mednet.ucla.edu

Modeling: PD Risk and Non-motor Symptoms

 
Chris Colwell, Ph.D.

Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Modeling:PD risk and non-motor symptoms: Dysfunction of circadian rhythms in PD

ccolwell@mednet.ucla.edu

David Hovda, Ph.D.

Professor, Molecular & Medical Pharmacology; Neurosurgery
Modeling:PD risk and non-motor symptoms; Traumatic Brain Injury and PD

dhovda@mednet.ucla.edu

David Jentsch, Ph.D.

Professor, Psychology; Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Modeling: PD risk and non-motor symptoms

jentsch@psych.ucla.edu

James David Jentsch
Taché, Yvette Ph.D.

Professor, Digestive Diseases/Gastroenterology, Medicine
Associate Director:CURE Digestive Diseases Research Center
Modeling: PD Risk and Non-Motor Symptoms

ytache@mednet.ucla.edu

William Xiangdong, Yang M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Creation of transgenic mouse models of PD using the BAC system

xwyang@mednet.ucla.edu